Bird Show.

Air temp: 67 degrees
Humidity: 76% Barometer: 1017 mb
Speed: 6 knots Course: 100-110 degrees True
Noon to noon distance made in nautical miles for the last 24 hours: 83 miles Point of Sail: Beam to Broad reach
Wind speed: N 8-10 knots
Swells: N 3-5 ft.
Noon Latitude: 38 deg 24′ N (Latitude wise – Same as Bodega Bay) Noon Longitude: 124 deg 55′ W
Camanoe’s fish count since Maui: Flying fish – 7 Squid – 0 Mahi Mahi – 1 Breakfast today: Oatmeal with blueberries
Lunch today(Including snacks): Spaghetti with Penne Pasta, 1 apple, 1/3 box of Triscuts Dinner tonight: Spaghetti with Watermelon for dessert

The wind faded a bit last night after my blog post. We were still able to maintain a speed of 2-4 knots through out the evening, so we at least made a little ground. within the last two hours the wind has increased so we are once again moving at a reasonable clip. As of now we are exactly 100 miles to the entrance of the Golden Gate. If the wind cooperates, I’m expecting a landfall of tomorrow late afternoon.

Last night was interesting, even a little spooky. I ventured on deck around midnight to check everything out before laying down for the evening. As usual I lit the boat and sails up with the spreader lights. Immediately, after turning on the deck lights my headsail was assaulted. I’m not sure what kind of birds they were, brown, 6-8″ overall with webbed feet, but they liked my sail. Over and over again they flew into the very well lit white headsail beak first with a popping sound. Only to slide down the sail flapping their wings before hitting the water. Eventually, after 2-3 seconds, they would regain their composure long enough to come around for another Kamikaze run. I’d be lying if I said I didn’t enjoy watching this. In fact, I enjoyed it for a good 30 minutes. The whole time Molly and Wally, my friendly dolphins were circling the boat expressing their adoration of the situation. I also saw multiple 6-7 inch dragon flies on the deck during the show.

Leave a Reply

