Dave is the Man!!!

Air temp: 70 degrees
Humidity: 71% Barometer: 1024 mb and steady
Speed: 4 knots Course: 330 degrees True
Noon to noon distance made in nautical miles for the last 24 hours: 105 miles
Point of Sail: Stbd. Close reach, but being set down by the current and seas, causing are actual course off the wind to be around 60-70 degrees. I know it’s pathetic.
Wind speed: North at 8 knots
Swells: Northeast at 4-6 ft.
Noon Latitude: 40 deg 24′ N (Same latitude as Eureka Ca, but 1500 miles west of it) Noon Longitude: 154 deg 20′ W
Camanoe’s fish count since Maui: Flying fish – 7 Squid – 0
Breakfast today: Oatmeal
Lunch today: Everything in site
Dinner tonight: Spaghetti with Dave’s awesome red sauce(shh….it comes in a box)

Still heading north. Well, more like northwest. Nothing new to report. I have been reading and watching TV for most of the day. It was blustery in the early morning and afternoon forcing me to reef down at 0200 this morning. Around 1400 the wind and seas died down and the sun came out. We are once again with full sail up. I hope the westerlies are up north when I get there. The weatherfax and gribs are not giving me much hope.

Still, all is well. The electrical demands are being met by the wind and solar. The watermaker is functioning fine with the exception of a small leak I can’t repair out here. We also have plenty of food on board. So, we are not in any particular rush.

I have been using my PA system quite a bit out here. I love startling the birds with it when they land onboard in an attempt to poop on me. It is weird to see anything but flying fish out here. On the way to Hawaii, I didn’t see any birds until the day before arrival. Earlier today, a bird landed on the port spreader almost on top of the P.A.(public address) speaker. I promptly picked up the P.A. mic while looking up through the hatch and yelled, “HEEEEYYYYYHHHHHEEEEEYYYYY!!!!” If the trail of poo he left was any sign of how much I startled him, then he was very, very startled.

-CAPT

Leave a Reply

