Nothing New

Air temp: 73 degrees
Humidity: 78% Barometer: 1022 mb and steady
Speed: 3.0 knots Course: 300 degrees True
Noon to noon distance made in nautical miles for the last 24 hours: 104 miles
Point of Sail: Stbd. Close reach
Wind speed: North at 15 knots
Swells: North at 6 ft. Confused!
Noon Latitude: 37 deg 49′ N (Same latitude as Berkeley Ca in San Francisco bay, but 1500 miles west of it) Noon Longitude: 152 deg 29′ W
Camanoe’s fish count since Maui: Flying fish – 6 Squid – 0
Breakfast today: 2 pop tarts and a mango
Lunch today: Mahi Mahi Ceviche with crackers, 1 Tangerine, 2 hand fulls of wheat thins
Dinner tonight: Cabbage and sausage with rice accompanied by Vanilla yogurt for dessert(yes, 3 nights in a row)

As per the last four days, I’m struggling to make headway north. The winds have been 8-15 knots mostly, for the last few days. With the current and confused seas I’m not making but 50-60 miles to the north each day. At least I’m moving; there are a few boats out here which are not moving at all, at least this is what I hear on the nightly Pacific Seafarers’ Net. The high is moving east now. It should be to the north of me by tomorrow evening, eventually moving a little south east. This is good news, I will hopefully have some better sailing wind in the next couple of days. Still, If I want to go over the top of the high, and I think I do if I want to reach some west wind, I will need to reach at least 45 degrees north. This is still about 400 miles north of me. Unfortunately, my crystal ball is not working very well in foreseeing the future wind direction. Maybe it needs some Windex.

-CAPT

One thought on “Nothing New

  1. Hey Dave,
    Don’t give up your westing!
    I was a little concerned that you’d thrown in the towell the other day when you posted a heading of 045*. Remember…stick it out to your goal of 45* N. We talked earlier about shooting for 50. It’ll pay dividends of fresh westerlys and 140 NM days.
    Aim for Adak.
    Later,
    John McAteer
    P.S. Are you still the man???
    Thought so.

Leave a Reply

