Found Some Wind!!!

Air temp: 75 degrees
Humidity: 76% Barometer: 1021 mb and steady
Speed: 4.0 knots Course: 045 degrees True
Noon to noon distance made in nautical miles for the last 24 hours: 88 miles
Point of Sail: Port Close reach with furled and and single reefed main
Wind speed: North at 12-14 knots
Swells: North at 6 ft. Confused!
Noon Latitude: 36 deg 52′ N (Same latitude as Santa Cruz CA, but 1500 miles west of it) Noon Longitude: 153 deg 11′ W
Camanoe’s fish count since Maui: Flying fish – 6 Squid – 0
Breakfast today: 2 Pop Tarts slightly crushed and 4 Oreo cookies
Lunch today: Mahi Mahi Ceviche with crackers, 2 Tangerines, 4 Oreo cookies
Dinner tonight: Cabbage and sausage with rice accompanied by Vanilla yogurt for dessert

I beat all night to the north west with several sail changes. Sometime through the night the seas grew to about 6-8 feet, very confused, and haven’t changed since. We are not as close to the center of the high anymore so the weather is a little more lively. As of now I can see four squalls on the horizon. I was hit with one earlier that kicked up 30 plus knot winds and lasted a good 45 minutes. I’m expecting at least a few squalls through the night so I’m reefed down and ready for them now. I’m losing a knot or two of boat speed, but it beats fumbling around on the fordeck at 0200 to reduce sail in the dark.

Earlier I was fortunate enough to talk with WA6TLL on the Pacific Seafarers’ Net who completed a phone patch for me to my parents in California. It was nice to chat with them on the phone. I was sad to find out my grandfather passed away yesterday. They seem to be in good spirits all things considered.

Nothing else really to say, I’ve been reading a lot, and watching a little TV here and there. The chef around here is excellent, and there is a lot of variety.

-CAPT

Leave a Reply

