Whats for Dinner? The Other, Other White Meat

Air temp: 80 degrees
Humidity: 65% Barometer: 1019 mb and up 2 in the three hours Speed: 4.0 knots Course: 320 degrees magnetic
Noon to noon distance made in nautical miles for the last 24 hours: 98 miles
Point of Sail: Starboard Close reach with Genoa and full main
Wind speed: North at 8 knots
Swells: Northeast at 4 ft. a little lumpy
Noon Latitude: 35 deg 04′ N (Same latitude as Morro Bay) Noon Longitude: 153 deg 31′ W Camanoe’s fish count since Maui: Flying fish – 6 Squid – 0
Breakfast today: 2 intstant oatmeal packets peaches and creme and 6 Oreo cookies
Lunch today: 1 Peanut butter and jelly sandwich, 3 Tangerines, and 5 Oreo Cookies Dinner tonight: Mahi Mahi, and an overripe Mango

There I was, ya see. Just minding my own business. I just happened to glance over the side of the boat. There he was, chasing me, with a twinkle in his eye. He wasn’t four feet behind the boat. I wasn’t looking to catch a fish today, but who turns down fresh Mahi Mahi? A.K.A Bull Dolphin, A.K.A AHI. I didn’t believe it worked. He was right underneath my fishing pole on the starboard side. I released the friction on the reel and less than four seconds later, Pete, the Mahi Mahi bit down hard. I pulled slightly to set the hook, and the fight was on. All I had to do was literally reach down and grab old Pete. It was too easy, no fun, so I actually let him run about 200 feet out while I hove-to with the boat. Then I tired him out and brought him on board. Pete was 40 ” from head to tail. Now he’s a little less, and a whole lot skinnier. Tonight, we shall feast on Pete.

-CAPT

One thought on “Whats for Dinner? The Other, Other White Meat

  1. Hey Dave,
    Don’t play with your food. Especially fresh Mahi. Deck it and start cutting. On those bulls, eat the section right above the eye in the forehead fresh off of your filet knife. Best ever!
    John McAteer

Leave a Reply

