Still Heading North

Air temp: 80 degrees
Humidity: 66% Barometer: 1019 mb down 1
Speed: 5 knots Course: 350 degrees magnetic
Noon to noon distance made in nautical miles for the last 24 hours: 112 miles
Point of Sail: Starboard Close reach with Genoa and single reefed main for balance Wind speed: Northeast at 10-12 knots
Swells: East at 5 ft.
Noon Latitude: 31 deg 25′ N – Noon Longitude: 155 deg 9′ W
Camanoe’s fish count since Maui: Flying fish – 5 Squid – 0
Breakfast today: 2 servings of grits
Lunch today: 2 Chicken salad sandwiches, a fruit roll up, and 4 Oreo cookies
Dinner tonight: Rice with curry sauce and a can of pears in light syrup

We are still heading north. The wind has been heavy in the mornings, light in the afternoons, and moderate in the evenings for the last three days. In the mornings I have to reduce sail for a few hours. By noon the winds have reduced and I’m ghosting along at 3-4 knots. By late afternoon, early evening, full sail is up and we are moving along at five plus knots. By midnight the winds have reduced and we are down to 3-5 knots for the rest of the night. I hope it stays this way.

The wind direction has been fairly consistent from the northeast. However, it will change directions by as much as 45 degrees for up to a half an hour at a time, throughout the day. I suspect this is due to nearby squalls. Normally, I don’t do anything, I find it’s just better to let the wind vane steer to the new wind direction than to adjust anything. After all, I don’t really have a course to steer. I’m just trying to stay with the wind and head somewhat north. I’ve been trying to guess where the Pacific High will be in the next few days according to weather faxes and grib files. So far I have been lucky. I suspect I will be becalmed in the next 72 hours as the High moves directly north of me. There really isn’t any wind predicted anywhere immediately north of me in the next 72 hours so there isn’t much I can do anyway.

Otherwise it’s been a good day. I have been bleaching out one of the bilges full of canned goods thanks to our friend Monty the Rat who visited us in Hawaii. He chewed into a box of refried beans, which I somehow missed. It’s been down there growing things in it ever since. I found it this afternoon, ugh!!

Leave a Reply

