Another Beautiful Day

Air temp: 82 degrees
Humidity: 67% Barometer: 1020 mb and steady
Speed: 2-3 knots Course: 010 degrees magnetic
Noon to noon distance made in nautical miles for the last 24 hours: 112 miles
Point of Sail: Close reach with Genoa and single reefed main for balance
Wind speed: Northeast at 6-8 knots
Swells: East at 1-3 ft.
Noon Latitude: 29 deg 59′ N Noon Longitude: 155 deg 45′ W
Camanoe’s fish count since Maui: Flying fish – 5 Squid – 0
Breakfast today: Leftover Weevil bean soup and crackers
Lunch today: 4 tangerines, a mango, and a granola bar
Dinner tonight: Peanut Butter and Jelly sandwiches

Today has been a beautiful day so far. In fact, it has been ideal. The morning started out a little rough and windy blowing 15-20 knots. By noon the sun was out, the seas were calm, the wind had dropped to eight knots, and we were on a broad reach at 4-5 knots. It was a perfect day for lounging and swimming.

I realize, as I head farther north, the weather will become less desirable. But for now I’m perfectly content to ghost along at 2-3 knots in the sunshine. What a difference between the trip to Hawaii and this trip so far. The trip to Hawaii was cold, windy, rolly, and wet. It wasn’t a bad trip, it just wasn’t what I thought it would be. This seems to be the consensus.

So far I have seen a lot of floating garbage out here. Nothing large; no KFC chicken buckets or floating garbage bags. There is a lot of small debris, bits of styro-foam, cardboard, and other unidentifiable bits of debris. It’s actually a little depressing. Most of it is a few inches under water to a few feet. When the seas are calm I can look over the side and see an endless parade of who knows what in the water. Some of it has obviously been floating around out here for a very long time. I guess this is why the North Pacific has been named the “Parking Lot.”

I have added my daily menu to the items at the top of the page. Food always seems to be a topic of conversation at cruiser gatherings. Cruisers always dream and tell stories about the fantastic meals they are going to make or have while underway. They stock the boat up with all of the various ingredients for these dream meals, often printing recipes and placing next to the ingredients. To many, the food is just as important as the trip itself. Me, not so much. I never know what I will crave or what the seas conditions will enable me to make. My approach is simple, but not economical. I go to the store and buy everything in sight. Whatever sounds good at the time and lots of variety. So far this has worked out well, because I generally have anything I can think of on board. The downside is, my menus are based on what needs to be eaten before it goes bad. Which is why I will eat four mangos, three oranges, and a tub of yogurt for the day.

-CAPT

Leave a Reply

