Camanoe’s Got the Weevils!!

Air temp: 82 degrees
Humidity: 67% Barometer: 1018 mb and steady
Speed: 5 knots Course: 355 degrees magnetic
Distance made in nautical miles for the last 24 hours: 104 miles
Point of Sail: Close reach with Genoa and single reefed main for balance
Wind speed: Northeast at 8-10 knots
Swells: East at 1-3 ft.
Latitude: 28 deg 10.35′ N
Longitude: 155 deg 58.11′ W
Camanoe’s fish count since Maui: Flying fish – 5 Squid – 0

Ugh!! Camanoe’s got the weevils!! Truthfully, she has had grain weevils ever since I bought groceries upon arrival in Hilo. Hawaii is crawling with them. It was only a few weeks later when I realized I had an infestation. Truthfully, I didn’t know what they were so it took awhile for me to catch on. I threw out a lot of food and froze a lot of items that were questionable. Apparently freezing them will kill any eggs or weevils. For those of you not familiar with them, they are little black beetle like insects about 2-3 millimeters long with little snouts that look like pinchers. They won’t harm you or bite you, even if you eat them. They don’t carry any diseases. They do however like all food products that contain grains, including beans, and even some spices. We keep Camanoe clean so we have never had any problems with insects, pests, rodents, or any thing for that matter, until reaching Hawaii. We were safer in Mexico than Hawaii in regards to bugs. After declaring war on them, I hadn’t seen any of the little buggers for over a month, so I figured they were gone. Especially since I lined all the cupboards with boric acid. But, no, I saw one crawling around today. Hopefully he is the last of his kind. The whole reason I bring this up is that I began soaking a bag of beans today for dinner, a bag which I had previously frozen. Not 20 minutes after placing them in a bowl of water, 30 or so dead weevils floated to the top of the water. I sifted through the beans and removed all the dead weevils. Screw it, I’m not throwing away any more food. I’m eating those beans. If I missed any weevils, oh well, more protein. Just remember the golden rule: “Always choose the lesser of two weevils.”

Otherwise, today has been fantastic. The swells are almost non-existent. We are on a close reach in light winds making great progress north. The boat was so calm I had the opportunity to bleach the aft head, vacuum the floors, carpets and the cockpit. I even flew the reaching stay-sail for a while until the wind shifted. In a few minutes I will heave-to and go for a swim. I might even see a shark if I’m lucky. Is it true you’re suppose to punch them in the nose if they give you any problems?

-CAPT

One thought on “Camanoe’s Got the Weevils!!

Leave a Reply

