It’s Still Sunny and Warm Out Here!

Air temp: 79 degrees
Humidity: 74% Barometer: 1016 mb and steady
Speed: 5-6 knots Course: 350 degrees magnetic
Distance made in nautical miles for the last 24 hours: 90 miles
Point of Sail: Close reach
Wind speed: Northeast at 10-12 knots
Swells: East at 3-4 ft.
Camanoe’s fish count since Maui: Flying fish – 5 Squid – 0

It still sunny out here. I half expected it to become dismal and dreary once I was 100 miles offshore. At least that’s what happened in Mexico. The sun plays a pivotal role in morale aboard Camanoe. It’s oh so nice to be able to lounge in the cockpit reading while the sun provides that perfect reading lamp. The wind, however, has been tempermental. In the morning it blows heavily and slackens just as I have reduced sail. Then I wait a while and think, “Ok, it’s calmed down some, lets put up more sail.” Sure enough, ten minutes after everything is perfect and more sail is up, another light squall blows through with rain and 25-30 knot winds. By around 2pm the wind becomes a little more consistent and I can relax a little. Of course, before bed I always reduce sail for the evening squalls, which have been pretty frequent.

I have already reverted back into my sea routine. In fact, so has Camanoe. She’s a mess. I normally start the day around 0800 checking the weather with a cup of coffee and something simple like oatmeal and fruit. That’s after I have adjusted the sails for maximum performance, in comparison to the evening when I reduce sail for maximum comfort and safety. By noon I have normally done a little clean up on the boat, adjusted the sails 10 times, and marked my position on the chart. From there, it’s reading, watching TV, eating, and mostly staring off into the big blue until 1700 when I update the blog and check into the Seafarers’ Net on the SSB. Next, I adjust the sails for the evening. By 1900 I’m eating dinner and watching the sunset or picking out a movie for the evening. Currently, I’m trying to finish season five of LOST. But it’s just too out there to wrap my noggin around it. Sometime around 2200 it’s lights out. Of course I’m up every half hour or so to scan the horizon. So 10 hours in bed is really like seven or eight. Surprisingly, I haven’t seen a thing since leaving Maui. No visuals or Radar detections.

Now, the answer to the question everybody wants to know! What’s for dinner? Mexican! Beans, rice, tortillas, cheese, and salsa! What makes it Mexican? It’s all from Mexico!!!!! There are advantages to a power hungry deep freezer.

-CAPT

One thought on “It’s Still Sunny and Warm Out Here!

Leave a Reply

