Day #2 – Smooth sailing North

Air temp: 80 degrees
Humidity: 71% Barometer: 1018 mb and steady
Speed: 4-5 knots Course: North 0 degrees magnetic
Distance made in nautical miles for the last 24 hours: 100 miles
Point of Sail: Close reach with single reefed main and Genoa (A single reef balances the boat perfectly!) Wind speed: Northeast at 10-12 knots
Swells: East at 2-3 ft.
Camanoe’s fish count since Maui: Flying fish – 3 Squid – 0

The weather has been fantastic so far. In fact, today has been the best offshore sailing day so far, including the trip here. Currently, I’m close hauled in 15 knots apparent wind cruising at just under 5 knots due North into 3-4 swells. No speed record, but quite comfortable. I slept a good 10 hours last night, even though every half hour I had to stick my head out of the cockpit to scan the horizon. I felt like a prairie dog sticking his head out of his hole. I guess you could say I was prairie dogging it, and not in the traditional manner. The trolling generator and wind generator are keeping the batteries topped off. The fridge and water maker appear to be working ok as well.

I spoke with Russ from August Moon last night, a cruising friend of ours from Mexico, on the SSB. He is about 700 miles north of me on a Beneteau 50′ with 6 other guys. They are making their way home from the Victoria to Maui race. There are actually a hand full of returning boats North of me. They have been drifting around with little wind the last few days. However, they say the water is still warm and the Dorado are biting. A low pressure system is coming in shortly up north which should give them a nice push.

I think I will have winds for several more days, hopefully another 500 miles, until I’m closer to the high. Then it will probably be a combination of luck and studying the current weather faxes.

Leave a Reply

