Day 15: Hello…..Is anybody there?

Air temp: 73 degrees
Humidity: 74% Barometer: 1022 mb and steady
Speed: 5-6 knots Course: 260 degrees magnetic
Distance Left to Hilo Hawaii: 794 miles left to go
Point of Sail: Deep Broad Reach with headsail only towards Hawaii Wind speed: Northeast 15 knots
Swells: East at 10-12 ft.
Camanoe’s fish count: Flying fish – 18 Squid – 6

It’s very easy to forget I’m not alone in the world. It certainly feels like it out here. The AM/FM radio stations around here play nothing but static. The VHF radio has no reply when I call for a radio check. In fact, I’m beginning to wonder if the VHF radio works anymore? It hasn’t made a sound in 12 days. Don’t tell anyone, keep it our secret, but I love it! The sound of the ocean rushing past the boat as it picks up Camanoe and we surf down a wave in excess of eight knots. The saphire blue water. The sun as it peaks it’s head out between intermittent cumulus clouds. Sitting in the cockpit watching the first rays of sunlight in the morning while I have my coffee. Staring out at the ocean for what seems like eternity while I contemplate the most important decisions of the day – what to eat for lunch and dinner. The silence. But most of all, this solitary confinement is the perfect excuse not to shave, to chew with my mouth open, slurp my soup as loud as possible, and to generally forget about manners in general. So what if I’ve been eating beans for two days? Who’s gonna smell me? My clothes are dirty, you say? You have to wear them first. There are only 800 more miles left to enjoy this life of grandeur before reaching Hawaii. I will surely miss it. At least until the next time. I would be lying, if I hadn’t seriously considered making a left and heading for Palmyra atoll, 1,000 miles south of Hawaii. But, like finding my pants, that probably won’t happen.

-CAPT

Leave a Reply

