Day 12: Halfway to Hawaii!!!

Air temp: 71 degrees
Humidity: 76% Barometer: 1017 mb and steady
Speed: 6 knots Course: 270 degrees magnetic
Distance Left to Hilo Hawaii: 1200 miles left to go
Point of Sail: Stbd. broad reach pointed towards Hawaii
Wind speed: North 15 knots
Swells: From the North to Northeast at 10-12 ft.
Camanoe’s fish count: Flying fish – 16 Squid – 6

If we claim I started the trip from Cabo San Lucas, then I am over halfway to Hawaii. If I claim I started the trip from Nuevo Vallarta then I’m almost 2/3’s of the way to Hawaii. The days have past so quickly, all 12 of them. Almost two weeks since leaving Cabo. It doesn’t feel like it. Once I settled into my routine the days have flown by. It does help to have spent the last eight years working on ships where I was gone a month at a time (at a minimum). The trick is not to count the time or the days until you are over the hump and halfway through. Knock on wood, or fiberglass really, I’m halfway to Hawaii!!!!

The wind is continually shifting towards the northeast, but not enough to go wing and wing (where the headsail is on the port side and the mainsail is on the starboard side). Luckily the wind has veered around enough to the northeast, so I have the mainsail sheeted all the way centerline acting as a kind of flopper stopper. It doesn’t stop the rolling, but does minimize it somewhat. Which I’m glad for. Last night I made one of the best pressure cooker stews to date. Too bad I didn’t have a chance to eat much of it. The boat rolled as I was trying to pour the leftovers into a container. It was one of those rolls where the port rail almost touches the water and all you can do is hold on while the word ” shit ” inadvertently flys out of your mouth. Half of the tri-tip stew raised over the lip of the rubber maid container and onto the top of the reefer(fridge)/counter finding its way into the fridge and over the counter underneath the pantry. It was fantastic!!!

One thing bothers me. Where is this weather, which is so synonymous with Hawaii and the trade winds? So far it has been overcast 90% of the time. The temp might be in the high 60’s to low 70’s, but it’s cold. Then again, it’s always cold on the water when the wind is blowing.

-CAPT

One thought on “Day 12: Halfway to Hawaii!!!

  1. you can scoop out the rest of the stew from under the counter when you get to hawaii. it will be nice and fertile by then.

Leave a Reply

