Day 11: Too much food

Air temp: 70 degrees
Humidity: 83% Barometer: 1017 mb and steady
Speed: 5.5 knots Course: 270 degrees magnetic
Distance Left to Hilo Hawaii: 1334 miles left
Point of Sail: Stbd. beam reach pointed torwards Hawaii
Wind speed: North 10 knots
Swells: From the North at 5-6 ft.
Camanoe’s fish count: Flying fish – 16 Squid – 6

Not much to report here. The winds have been weak the last two days. They are blowing 10-12 kts, gusting to 15 for awhile then dropping to around eight for an hour or so, then back up again. Which is fine. Initially I would shake the reefs out of the main and put them back in when the wind came back. Now, I just leave them in. The headsail is my engine and the main is my balancer. The wind has began veering around more to the northeast, so it’s coming over the stbd. quarter. This forces me to have a pole on the headsail. Otherwise the headsail collapses and fills most of the day, putting a lot of strain on the rigging. Even with a pole, the headsail still collapses and fills in the larger wave troughs.

Too much food. I grossly over estimated how much actual cooking would be done on this trip. In fact, I just over estimated how much food to bring along. The freezer is packed full of meat I will not be able to consume before agriculture boards us in Hawaii. Diligent as I may be, I can only eat so much Arrachera (Tri-tip). I will continue trying though. No doubt my colon is happy at this prospect.

-CAPT

One thought on “Day 11: Too much food

Leave a Reply

