Day 4 : Series Drogue is Done!!!

Air temp: 69 degrees
Humidity: 70% Barometer: 1013 mb
Speed: 4-5 knots Course: 275 degrees magnetic
Distance Left to Hawaii: 2250 miles left
Point of Sail: Stbd. beam reach pointed torwards Hawaii
Wind speed: Gusty from the North-West 15-20 knots
Swells: From the Northwest 10-12 ft.

Slow, but comfortable. I’m not pushing Camanoe too hard. We could easily be making a steady 5-6+ knots if we wanted. Of course, it would be much less comfortable. Not that this has been a pleasure cruise so far. We are still rolling quite a bit as the swells pick us up on the beam and roll us 40 degrees every 10 seconds. However, I can’t complain since the wind has been very consistent, which is common for this time of year.

In all honesty this will be my longest passage under sail to date. Sure, I have crossed the Pacific, Atlantic and Caribbean many times on ships, but it is not the same as in a small boat. In the past I have completed several single-handed trips up and down the coast of California from San Diego to San Francisco and vice versa. Like most people, I always tried to stay close to shore so I wouldn’t have to go more than 36 hours without an anchorage or a brake. Thus, I could be close to an anchorage in case the weather turned nasty; even if this meant motoring when I could have been sailing, even if only at a knot or two. I hope by the end of this trip my viewpoint changes. Changes enough to where I would feel more comfortable heading offshore for a few days in order to make a destination than feel the need to harbor-hop each night just for the security of an anchorage. Mostly because harbor hopping always causes people to worry about having enough fuel, getting in after dark, waking up early enough to make the tide and the next destination that night, all so we don’t have to spend the night offshore. So far, so good.

Today I completed the Jordan Series Drogue. It is finally coiled up in a sail bag ready to be attached to the stainless steel plates I installed on each side of the transom. Of course, this will have to wait until it calms down. Realistically, I will never use it. But, it’s nice to know it’s there along with a Florentino Sea Anchor. I like the idea as a single hander, to be able to pay out the Series Drogue from the stern in bad weather and go down below. It doesn’t require anybody on the wheel, or adjusting the length behind the boat to rest in the trough. It won’t be temporarily pulled out of the water by a large swell allowing the boat to broach in a bad sea like most other drag devices. It will always be set, ready to go within a matter of minutes.

-CAPT

Leave a Reply

